A Hard Lesson in Information Storage

Just when things were starting to look up…..something comes along and kicks you in the teeth.  I sat down at my computer last night to start drafting my assignment, when suddenly it whirred to a halt and the power went.  Desperate, I hoped that the old ‘switch it off/switch it back on’ routine might work.  Sadly, it didn’t.  I now have one dead PC with all my files for the course completely inaccessible (not to mention all the other stuff I have stored on there – baby photos, ebooks, music).  The stupid thing is, I had been thinking that I really ought to back-up my work soon.  I have a  portable hard drive that I use for occasional back-ups and for transferring stuff to our laptop (an essential piece of kit if every there was one – provided you use it of course!).  Unfortunately, I haven’t backed up my stuff for some time now, so I know there will be a large number of files that are not backed up.  Dammit.

Anyway, I am really hoping it will get fixed today as I don’t know what we are going to do if it is completely kaput.  With my wife on maternity leave at the moment, a new PC is not exactly something we would want to splash out on (especially after buying a new digital camera).  This is not exactly great timing.  Although it is truly typical how these things happen at the most inconvenient moment.

I guess one important lesson has been learnt from this though: make a point to back-up all your data on a regular basis.  If not, you run the risk of doing what I did last night: moping the sweat from my brow whilst frantically pulling cables, flicking switches, poking around the interior of the base unit and trying to overcome the overwhelming urge to give the computer a good kicking.  And we wouldn’t want that, would we?

Tell me what you think...

