Option Modules…what now?

Well, here’s the first blog post I have written on a plane. Don’t know why I didn’t think of this before….kills two birds with one stone. In-flight boredom and my inability to find time for posts. Anyway, the blog post…….

After spending what seemed to be an eternity attempting to complete both the Collection Management and Research in the Profession modules, I am finally about to embark on the optional modules. It feels like progress is finally being made. Not only am I about to embark on the optional modules, the dissertation school is within sight – my final study school before the completion of the MSc. Such a good feeling to know that, although there is still much to be done, the end is within sight. I can barely believe it. Something has ot to go wrong surely?!

Anyway, embarking on the option modules brings its own problems: which module to choose. There are so many different options, it’s difficult to know which would be the most beneficial. So far I have plumped for the Digital Skills module which I feel would be a useful module to take in the ‘Digital Age’. But then I’m a bit stumped. I guess I need to choose something that is both interesting and valuable. Not too much to ask is it?! So far I am swaying more towards the marketing module as that seems To be the most beneficial module in my current employment. Although that may also be beneficial in all library environments. As I am sure most are aware, there are campaigners out there who believe that the business side of libraries is often overlooked. Personally, and going from my experiences on the course, I do not believe this to be the case. Studies in Management was a very thorough module which was far more comprehensive than any training I received in the private sector (training in the private sector – there’s a joke).

Anyway, the marketing module is likely to be my next choice, unless any fellow Aber types have any other suggestions for someone in public libraries. Will be interested to hear what others on the course have chosen and why.

4 thoughts on “Option Modules…what now?

  1. Congratulations on your progress so far, you seem to be racing through the modules. 🙂

    I did the Digital Information module (not sure if this is the same one you mentioned – Lucy’s module), and Business Information (I was supporting the business school at the time, they have since removed this module).

    Sadly the marketing module wasn’t available until after I finished, but seeing as I’d like to focus on marketing in my dissertation, I borrowed the module from the TPL. I really enjoyed reading it and the assignment seemed interesting too.

    A friend enjoyed the children’s library modules but I think they’re more relevant for those working in school, school library services, or as children’s librarians.

  2. Thanks Jo. It doesn’t feel like I have made a lot of progress recently, but maybe I’m not doing as badly as I thought. Interesting to hear what you thought about the marketing module. I am certainly thinking it would be a good module to do.

    Polyxena – modules are:

    Rare Books Librarianship
    Introduction to Music Librarianship
    Archive Management
    Records Management
    Project Management for Information Systems
    Systems and Business Process Analysis
    Digital Information
    Marketing of Services
    Management Information Systems
    Focus on the Child
    School Libraries and Learning Resources
    Health Information Managment
    Knowledge Management…

    Quite a list!!

  3. Pingback: The ‘Thoughts….’ Annual 2010 – Part I | thoughts of a [wannabe] librarian…

Tell me what you think...

