That Exciting News….

I almost forgot I was going to write a blog post this evening! I thought a quick post on WordPress would remind me to do so, but I still nearly forgot.

Anyway, the point of the post….Now, this will come as no surprise to those who follow me on Twitter but, after 4 years in public libraries, I’m moving into the world of academic libraries. As a result of a recent interview, I’ve been offered a position as a Library Systems Officer at a local university which I gladly accepted. Although it is going to be quite a big change for me jumping from public to academic libraries, it’s a challenge I’m really looking forward to.

Despite moving into a different type of library, I’ll still be following developments in public libraries because if it wasn’t for them I wouldn’t be where I am today. Besides, I see public libraries as a vital public service (particularly in the current economic climate) and there will be many developments in the future that demand comment and opinion. Quite frankly, they are too important to ignore as a public service.

I’m deeply grateful for the opportunities thrown my way during the past 4 years, especially as it opened me up to a whole new career path. It has been a fantastic experience for me and I have thoroughly enjoyed every minute of my time in public libraries. That said, I’m really looking forward to the next step in my library career…..exciting times are ahead!

4 thoughts on “That Exciting News….

  1. Congratulations Ian. Just found your blog again (via Aber Distance Learners on fb). Interested to read about Dissertation School. I am temporarily withdrawn at present, because we are moving countries, but Dissertation School is out there in the future for me. Good luck with the new job.

  2. Pingback: The ‘Thoughts….’ Annual 2010 – Part I | thoughts of a [wannabe] librarian…

  3. Pingback: The ‘Thoughts….’ Annual 2010 – Part I | thoughts of a [wannabe] librarian…

Tell me what you think...

