Flavors.me – A Portal to Your Social Networks

One of the problems with having so many social networking accounts is that you have your footprint all over the place making it difficult for you to conveniently share all your networks.  Sure, you can find people via the normal ‘Find your Friends’ applications and links on their blogs, but it would be handy to just have a one-stop homepage where you can sure all your profiles.  Not only would this be good for sharing your profiles, it would be great if you could aggregate all your stuff onto one page.  If you want to integrate your stuff in this way, quickly and easily, then Flavors.me may be for you.

Flavors.me - A Personal Homepage

Of course, this isn’t a new idea.   There are a few other sites out there that do exactly the same thing.  But Flavors is the best one I have seen so far.  Once you have signed up for an account, you have the opportunity to incorporate a number of social networks on your homepage (up to 4 for a free account and as many as you like for a paid account), including:

  • Twitter
  • Last.fm
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • WordPress
  • Flickr
  • YouTube

And loads more (around 18 at the moment with more to come according to the developers – including LibraryThing!).  You then have the opportunity to edit the name of the subsequent hyperlink to your social network.  For example, you can change ‘Flickr’ to ‘Look at my photos’…handy if people visiting your site aren’t aware of what Flickr is (there are people out there, believe it or not, who aren’t addicted to social networking….).  Once added, visitors can click on the relevant link and the content you have decided to share will be displayed directly on your Flavors.me page, rather than opening the relevant profile in a new window.

My Flavors.me Homepage

Once you have added your networks you can also fill in a bit of detail about yourself to be displayed on your page and adjust font styles, sizes and backgrounds.  When finished you have a very simple, clean portal to all of your social networks….and at no cost!  That’s got to be a good thing.  There is also a paid account ($20 per year) which gives you more design options, more data sources, custom domains and stats.  At present I only have the free account but I am quite tempted to upgrade to the full version at some point in the future.  If you’re looking to have a single portal for all your social networks, it is certainly worth giving it a look.

3 thoughts on “Flavors.me – A Portal to Your Social Networks

  1. Thanks very much for the review, Ian! I’m so glad you are enjoying the service so far. If you have any further feedback or questions, don’t hesitate to get in touch with me: heather@flavors.me.

    All best,
    Heather Rasley
    Marketing & Support
    Flavors.me | HiiDef

  2. I’m not sure about this, to be honest. I have reservations about linking all my social networking accounts so that a follower on one has (in theory) access to them all. I don’t feel comfortable with that, as I have different sets of followers on each one and in some respects I want to keep these separate, i.e. work related stuff separate from family and personal contacts. I would rather spread my personal information around several different places than have it all together in one place. I feel more comfortable with that from a security/privacy point of view.

    Occasionally, I link from Twitter to Facebook but this is very much the exception rather than the rule. I link Flickr updates to other accounts more often, but again I prefer to do this selectively and via the existing applications on those sites. That seems to work for me.

  3. I’ve been thinking about the same thing for along time,how it could be great,to just access all my networks from one place, though what Chris points out is important and most definitely a must have. I think,in as much as I can link all my social networks together, I must have a level of control, in maintaining and setting the level of autonomy of each of my networks from the others.

Tell me what you think...

