A grand day out….

 

The Coach and Horse pub, London

Regular readers of my blog and my tweets will know that I headed up to London yesterday to attend a lunch hosted by Private Eye.  It’s probably not the done thing to talk about who else attended so I won’t (I’m good like that!).  I will say however that there were a couple of broadsheet columnists, a well-known former MP, a sitting MP and the head of news at one of the main TV channels all in attendance.  Oh, and of course Ian Hislop was there (sat practically opposite me which was pretty cool!).

 

As I mentioned in my earlier post, the invitation came courtesy of the Library News editor who I have recently been in contact with as a result of my involvement in the Voices for the Library campaign.  It was great to chat about things face to face about the issues facing not only public libraries but also school libraries and to have the opportunity to talk a little about our campaign and how we came about.  It’s at times like this that you realise that although email, Twitter etc are wonderful in many ways, nothing quite beats an old-fashioned face-to-face conversation.

I have to say it was a fantastic opportunity to attend a lunch with people who work on a magazine I regularly read and enjoy so I am very grateful for the invitation and the opportunity to network a little.  One thing is for certain, it’s not a day I’m going to forget in a hurry!  I only wish I could talk more about it, but I’m afraid that’s your lot!

One thought on “A grand day out….

  1. Pingback: The media love libraries – let’s make the most of it! | thoughts of a [wannabe] librarian…

Tell me what you think...

