Belchite – a village preserved

Over the past few years I have developed a fascination with the Spanish Civil War, in part due to marrying a Spaniard and also due to my background studying history at university.  I am currently reading Guerra by Jason Webster – a fascinating look at present day and Civil War era Spain.  I have read a number of books on the period and had a number of discussions with Spaniards about the events before, during and after the Civil War – all of which have been both fascinating and disturbing.  However, it wasn’t until reading Webster’s work that I came across the story of Belchite.  Subsequent to the Battle of Belchite, the village has remained untouched, acting as a memorial to the Civil War.  I have obviously never been and I am not sure I would want to.  The images of the town suggest it would be nothing less than an eery and humbling experience.

All images by calafellvalo on Flickr and used under a CC license.

2 thoughts on “Belchite – a village preserved

  1. Impressive pictures! I have never been to Belchite myself either but I have visited other SCW sites and there is definetely like a black cloud hovering over them. Belchite has also become popular in the recent years for EVP practitioners and thrill seekers. About two years ago, my brother and a group of friends set off to spend a night there but had to leave after about 20 minutes because it just felt too dense. I agree with you on your perception of what this war was. All wars are gloomy but in my opinion the SCW was particularly ferocious and nasty.

Tell me what you think...

